Web Design Web Design Forum
Registration is free! Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Calendar Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search
Home Web Design

Convenient web based access to our favorite web design Usenet groups

web design reviews

This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters  





Pages (9): « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 »   Last Thread  Next Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread   

Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Annika1980




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
> Selling something you can download for free is lower than dirt.
> What a scumbag.

>  Erm... he's not "selling something you can download for free".

Ah, but he is.

>What he's allegedly selling is are serial numbers that will change
>the free, downloaded TRIAL version of CS2 - the one that stops working
>after 30 days - to the decidedly NOT free full version.

And these serial numbers come from a Keygen program, which you can
download for free.
Or so I've heard.



Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

G.T.




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
"baldycotton" <baldycotton2@mchsi.com> wrote in message
news:p5edt190g3k9siovkrkr7rsr5tl8m987qp@4ax.com...
> On Tue, 24 Jan 2006 23:56:47 +1000, "Jasen" wrote:
> 
>
> Since this particular auction is closed, it may be moot, but, he
> says...
>
> Up for sale is a brand new activation key for Adobe Photoshop CS2. It
> is brand new and guaranteed to work or your money back. All updates
> online and all full features, all you need to do is download the full
> trial version and purchase one of my activation keys and you will have
> a full working version...
>
> So perhaps what he is "selling" is the key for the trial version,
> which you would have gotten for free anyway.
>

But "a full working version" is not the same as a trial version.  It sounds
like he was just running a keygen.

Your postage stamp example reminds me of a recent astronomy related auction
that was pulled from Ebay.  The guy was just selling the URL to a great 300
page astronomy PDF.  The guys on s.a.a. figure it was most likely a free
ebook from one of the astronomy magazine websites.

Greg




Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Bobo




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
The seller has pulled the activation key off of his site.  Things must have
gotten too hot for him...

Bobo

"Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au> wrote in message
news:43d63225$0$3568$5a62ac22@per-qv1-newsreader-01.iinet.net.au...
> Any ideas whether this is legitimate or not.  Might be suspicious as it is
> so cheap for software that sells for around $700 for the full version. A
> number of people have apparently bought it from this guy with no immediate
> problems.  How does someone get a hold of these activation keys so
> cheap??? Stealing?
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Adobe-Photos...1QQcmdZViewItem
>
> Jasen
>




Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Kingdom




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
"Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au> wrote in
news:43d63812$0$3542$5a62ac22@per-qv1-newsreader-01.iinet.net.au:

>
> "Wm H" <huarte555@sbcglobal.net> wrote in message
> news:XAqBf.21704$dW3.7676@newssvr21.news.prodigy.com... 
>
> No.  my username is Jasen1970 on Ebay.  All I want to know is if I
> should avoid this seller because of legitimacy issues.  I have a
> feeling that buying an activation Key costing $20 for a normally
> expensive program might mean I could be buying a stolen product.
>
> 
UNUSED_ 
W0QQitemZ7212779037QQcategoryZ111506QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZView 
>
>

Did you work all that out for yourself? why ask us!

--
24 hours in a day ... 24 beers in a case ... coincidence?


Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Rob




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
Poxy wrote:
> Jasen wrote:
> 
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Adobe-Photos...1QQcmdZViewItem
>
>
> My guess is that he has some kind of key generating software, although it 
is
> a kind of brazen thing to do - if they are illegitimate I imagine Adobe wi
ll
> identify the dodgy keys and block them from upgrades.
>
>
>


There is, out there, a key gen hack to make the trial version into a
full version. This maybe what he's selling. As he mentions having to
download the trial version.

PS CS&2  are more complicated than most programs to activate and keep
activated - they write to the low level of the hard drive, this is not
normally formatted when you reformat  a hard drive - so the Adobe
information stays on your HDD.

Although the serial number remains the same each time PS is installed a
new activation number is generated which has to be converted to a
working key.

My guess is that is a Key Gen Hack for Adobe Trial version of PS2.

I have just Googled up     "key gen crack adobe photoshop"  and have

http://adobe.crack-cd.com/Adobe_Pho...Activation.html

This maybe what's for sale on ebay.


Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Matt Clara




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
"Poxy" <pox@poxymail.com> wrote in message
news:gOqBf.225895$V7.149712@news-server.bigpond.net.au...
> Jasen wrote: 
> http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Adobe-Photos...1QQcmdZViewItem
>
>
> My guess is that he has some kind of key generating software, although it
> is
> a kind of brazen thing to do - if they are illegitimate I imagine Adobe
> will
> identify the dodgy keys and block them from upgrades.
>
>
>

As I recall, keygen serial cracks because part of the serial number that's
generated is based on your computer itself.  Which is to say, a serial
generated on my computer will work on my computer, but not on your computer.

--
Regards,
Matt Clara
www.mattclara.com




Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

rb




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
Poxy wrote:
> Jasen wrote:
>[snip]

if they are illegitimate I imagine Adobe will
> identify the dodgy keys and block them from upgrades.
>
>
>

I'm sure Adobe reckon he's a bastard.

rb


Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Jimmy




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
<peterem2000@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:1138118725.317989.291870@g47g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
> Jasen wrote:

> If you look at his feedbacks (all 81 of them) he has 100% positive
> feedback. But 75% of those feedbacks are from him *buying stuff* before
> January of this year. The remaining 25% of positive feedbacks are
> mainly from selling the CS2 keys since the middle of January.
>
> But one additional thing that screams scammer to me is that he has
> received  positive feedbacks from fpv.41t on 6-Jan and paulag100 on
> 28-Dec for two seperate auctions for what looks like same *single* item
> ( A ford escort bumper bar).
>
> Also he had 2 seperate auctions going for the CS2 keys, one started
> 18-Jan, the other started 19-Jan.
>

It called a Dutch auction.
http://pages.ebay.com/help/basics/g-dutch-auction.html




Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

Dave




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
Legal? No.

Does it work? Sure - he's got a program similar to KeyGen that
generates a number that works when you select the "activation by
Telephone" registration option. Not that I would have any experience
with anything like that ;)



Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Re: Cheap PhotoShop CS2 key on Ebay
 

KLH




quote this post edit post

IP Loged report this post

Old Post  01-31-06 - 03:19 AM  
Jasen wrote:
> <tnom@mucks.net> wrote in message
> news:iscdt1d6c3o8t94gsv3nj27gkigc9nq0u6@4ax.com... 
>
> not anymore they don't as Ebay took him off. Suspicions confirmed again.
>
>

Ebay did not take that down, the seller ended the auction. If ebay had
nuked it, the auction would no longer show.


Post Follow-Up to this message ]
Sponsored Links
 





All times are GMT. The time now is 08:32 PM. Post New Thread   
Pages (9): « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 »   Previous Last Thread   Next Thread next
Photoshop archive | Show Printable Version | Email this Page | Subscribe to this Thread

Popular forums

Adobe Photoshop forum Macromedia Flash Web Site Design
Dreamweaver FrontPage forum
JavaScript Forum XML forum
Style Sheets VRML
Forum Jump:
Rate This Thread:

 

XML RSS Feed web design latest articles Syndicate our forum via XML or simple JavaScript

Web Design archive  Database administration help  


Top Home  -  Register  -  Control Panel   -  Memberlist  -  Calendar  -  Faq  -  Search Top