On Tue, 24 Jan 2006 23:56:47 +1000, "Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au>
wrote:
>A number of people have apparently bought it from this guy with no immedia
te
>problems.
I don't believe it.
Jasen wrote:
> Any ideas whether this is legitimate or not. Might be suspicious as it is
> so cheap for software that sells for around $700 for the full version. A
> number of people have apparently bought it from this guy with no immediate
> problems. How does someone get a hold of these activation keys so cheap??
?
> Stealing?
I am not even sure he is actually selling activation keys in the first
place. His instructions say that he will email the key *once* he has
received payment.
If you look at his feedbacks (all 81 of them) he has 100% positive
feedback. But 75% of those feedbacks are from him *buying stuff* before
January of this year. The remaining 25% of positive feedbacks are
mainly from selling the CS2 keys since the middle of January.
But one additional thing that screams scammer to me is that he has
received positive feedbacks from fpv.41t on 6-Jan and paulag100 on
28-Dec for two seperate auctions for what looks like same *single* item
( A ford escort bumper bar).
Also he had 2 seperate auctions going for the CS2 keys, one started
18-Jan, the other started 19-Jan.
"cimawr" <rhyfelwr@msn.com> wrote in message
news:1138116883.840962.63460@o13g2000cwo.googlegroups.com...
>
> cimawr wrote:
>
> ARGH! Damn Google... here's what I *meant to post:
>
> Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au> wrote:
>
>
> You wouldn't actually be buying a *product* - all you'd get for your
> money would be an e-mail with a serial number in it.
> Which it's illegal for anyone but Adobe to sell serial numbers (he's
> probably producing counterfeits with a key-gen program), but it's not
> precisely selling "stolen goods".
>
> Incidentally, it's also entirely possible that he's selling random
> strings of numbers that won't even work; who's going to complain about
> being scammed when they buy something they KNOW is illegal?
>
That raises an interesting question. If its not a valid key, then is it
really illegal to sell it? (Aside from the Fraud issues, of course) So, if
its not valid, then why wouldn't the purchaser's complain of being defrauded
other than fear of embarassment?
Eric Miller
"Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au> wrote in message news:43d63225$0$3568$5a62ac22@per-qv1-n
ewsreader-01.iinet.net.au...
> Any ideas whether this is legitimate or not. Might be suspicious as it is
> so cheap for software that sells for around $700 for the full version. A
> number of people have apparently bought it from this guy with no immediate
> problems. How does someone get a hold of these activation keys so cheap??
?
> Stealing?
>
>
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Adobe-Photos...1QQcmdZViewItem
Keygens are distributed with most warez versions of PS, including
CS2. These keygens can generate an infinite number of "valid"
keys (of course none of them are legitimate, but CS2 will see them
as valid).
The guy's a crook, plain and simple.
"Eric Miller" <millerericnospam@bellsouth.net> wrote in message
news:LqtBf.6859$vp6.838@bignews6.bellsouth.net...
>
> "cimawr" <rhyfelwr@msn.com> wrote in message
> ne.googlegroups.com...
>
> That raises an interesting question. If its not a valid key, then is it
> really illegal to sell it? (Aside from the Fraud issues, of course) So, if
> its not valid, then why wouldn't the purchaser's complain of being
defrauded
> other than fear of embarassment?
>
> Eric Miller
the buyer could complain and if a paypal transaction get reimbursed but the
ebay listing shows plenty of prior buyers for this dubious "product". I
wonder why ebay or adobe is not complaining about this obvious illegal
listing.
Sounds shakey to me...
-Larry
"Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au> wrote in message
news:43d63225$0$3568$5a62ac22@per-qv1-newsreader-01.iinet.net.au...
> Any ideas whether this is legitimate or not. Might be suspicious as it is
> so cheap for software that sells for around $700 for the full version. A
> number of people have apparently bought it from this guy with no immediate
> problems. How does someone get a hold of these activation keys so
> cheap??? Stealing?
>
> http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Adobe-Photos...1QQcmdZViewItem
>
> Jasen
>
>Keygens are distributed with most warez versions of PS, including
>CS2. These keygens can generate an infinite number of "valid"
>keys (of course none of them are legitimate, but CS2 will see them
>as valid).
>The guy's a crook, plain and simple.
No doubt.
Selling something you can download for free is lower than dirt.
What a scumbag.
"Jasen" <jasen1970@ozemail.com.au> wrote in message
news:43d63812$0$3542$5a62ac22@per-qv1-newsreader-01.iinet.net.au...
>
> "Wm H" <huarte555@sbcglobal.net> wrote in message
> news:XAqBf.21704$dW3.7676@newssvr21.news.prodigy.com...
>
> No. my username is Jasen1970 on Ebay. All I want to know is if I should
> avoid this seller because of legitimacy issues. I have a feeling that
> buying an activation Key costing $20 for a normally expensive program
might
> mean I could be buying a stolen product.
>
I have no doubt it's a genuine Adobe product and they are just having a
clearance sale.
Where do you get the 'could' from? I would think it's pretty bloody obvious.
> Selling something you can download for free is lower than dirt.
> What a scumbag.
First I'm not going to get up on my high horse here about piracy. I have
been known to be a bit of a captain feathersword myself.
I'm just questioning the statement above.
Do you mean, Taking money from someone when they can illegally download the
same thing for free is lower than dirt? You mean kind of like the equivalent
of someone selling you a stolen VCR in the pub and then charging you extra
for the remote control?
How dare they!!
:0D
Annika1980 wrote:
> No doubt.
> Selling something you can download for free is lower than dirt.
> What a scumbag.
Erm... he's not "selling something you can download for free".
What he's allegedly selling is are serial numbers that will change
the free, downloaded TRIAL version of CS2 - the one that stops working
after 30 days - to the decidedly NOT free full version. (When I
purchased it last week, the upgrade was retailing for $169, the full
version for $649.)
The legal way to change the trial version to the full version is
either to purchase a retail box & plug in the serial number from the
box into the trial version, or to purchase a license from Adobe which
supplies you with a number.
This guy is either selling counterfeit numbers, or - this just
occurred to me - might be selling a multi-user license number which is
supposed to be used within a corporation. Either way, it's almost
certain that it's not legitimate.