OK, I'm confused.
I had an email problem with a particularly flaky web host. Email sent to
any forwarder never arrived with no bounce. So, I moved the domain name in
question to a new web host and started using eNom's (big domain registrar)
email forwarding.
The odd thing is, we're still having the occasional message completely
disappear, while others take several hours to arrive. I've also heard
reports of people receiving bounces, but haven't found anyone yet that could
forward me one. I have many domains using eNom's forwarding service and
this is the only one with a problem.
The only thing I can think of is some big ISP somewhere has cached the DNS
record for the domain and is trying to send mail to the old server. Other
than that, I am mystified.
Can anyone tell me what their ISP's DNS server shows as an MX record for
pearltrading.ca ?
Thanks
HC
"HC" <e01@removethis.toao.net> wrote
> The only thing I can think of is some big ISP somewhere has cached the DNS
> record for the domain
The DNS flip was last week by the way.
HC
Writing in news:alt.www.webmaster
From the safety of the Shaw Residential Internet cafeteria
HC <e01@removethis.toao.net> said:
> OK, I'm confused.
You've come to the right place then :)
> ...
> The odd thing is, we're still having the occasional message completely
> disappear ...
>
> Can anyone tell me what their ISP's DNS server shows as an MX record for
> pearltrading.ca ?
Have you seen this?
http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsr...pearltrading.ca
scroll down ...
ERROR: The IP of one or more of your mail server(s) have no reverse DNS
(PTR) entries (if you see "Timeout" below, it may mean that your DNS
servers did not respond fast enough). RFC1912 2.1 says you should have a
reverse DNS for all your mail servers. It is strongly urged that you have
them, as many mailservers will not accept mail from mailservers with no
reverse DNS entry. You can double-check using the 'Reverse DNS Lookup'
tool at the DNSstuff site (it contacts your servers in real time; the
reverse DNS lookups in the DNS report use our local caching DNS server).
The problem MX records are:
58.188.163.216.in-addr.arpa [No reverse DNS entry (rcode: 3 ancount: 0)
Scroll down (some more) ...
WARNING: One or more of your mailservers appears to be an open relay. If
so, this means that you are allowing spammers to freely use the mailserver
to send out spam! It is possible that your mailserver accepts all E-mail
and later bounces it, or accepts the relay attempt and then deletes the
E-mail, but this is not common.
WARNING: eforwardct.name-services.com appears to be an open relay:
--
William Tasso
Save the drama
for your Mama.
On Fri, 30 Dec 2005 21:40:10 GMT, "HC" <e01@removethis.toao.net>
posted something that included:
>Can anyone tell me what their ISP's DNS server shows as an MX record for
>pearltrading.ca ?
Although there's been excellent advice to you earlier in this thread,
I haven't noticed anyone actually answering this question.
eforwardct.name-services.com. [Preference = 5]
eforward1.name-services.com. [Preference = 10]
TTL on each of these is half an hour.
--
If we're losing 40-130 species a day,
How come nobody can itemize them?
And why can't fruitflies be one of them?
William Tasso wrote:
> You've come to the right place then :)
Thank you, kind sir :)
> http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsr...pearltrading.ca
I have not. Thank you.
> ERROR: The IP of one or more of your mail server(s) have no reverse DNS
> WARNING: One or more of your mailservers appears to be an open relay.
These I can't do anything about unfortunately, but I did fix a bunch of
the other errors. I'll cross my fingers and see what happens.
Thanks again,
HC
Paul Ding wrote:
> eforwardct.name-services.com. [Preference = 5]
> eforward1.name-services.com. [Preference = 10]
Thanks, at least that's as it should be.
HC.