This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters  


Home > Archive > Website Design Forum > January 2007 > Website Design Plagerism





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author Website Design Plagerism
dkva

2007-01-27, 11:33 pm

I know imitation is the ultimate form of flattery, but a definite line
should be drawn in the realm of copyright infringement for web site
design and or any creative design or service for that matter.
Imageworks Studio was notified today that their site design had
basically been stolen and recycled (well... attempted to be recycled
anyway) on another web site without any prior notification and/or
permission. Could they at least make an attempt to make it look like a
professional and presentable website? Unbelievable!

Check it out for yourselves.

Our Web Site:
http://www.imageworksstudio.com/

Site in Question:
http://www.wealthbridgeenterprises.com/

34107

2007-01-27, 11:33 pm

"dkva" <dk@darrenkurre.com> wrote in news:1168986212.822553.166700@
11g2000cwr.googlegroups.com:

> I know imitation is the ultimate form of flattery, but a definite line
> should be drawn in the realm of copyright infringement for web site
> design and or any creative design or service for that matter.
> Imageworks Studio was notified today that their site design had
> basically been stolen and recycled (well... attempted to be recycled
> anyway) on another web site without any prior notification and/or
> permission. Could they at least make an attempt to make it look like a
> professional and presentable website? Unbelievable!
>
> Check it out for yourselves.
>
> Our Web Site:
> http://www.imageworksstudio.com/
>
> Site in Question:
> http://www.wealthbridgeenterprises.com/
>
>


Hmmm, on the one hand you're asking

"Could they at least make an attempt to make it look like a
professional and presentable website?"

yet on the other you're complaining they've "borrowed" your design!

Oh, and by the way, your own site has 18 validation errors!
--
www.lightningnews.com Lightning fast anonymous usenet downloads for 5$ only !
robert@optymista.net

2007-01-27, 11:33 pm



On 16 Sty, 23:23, "dkva" <d...@darrenkurre.com> wrote:
> I know imitation is the ultimate form of flattery, but a definite line
> should be drawn in the realm of copyright infringement for web site
> design and or any creative design or service for that matter.
> Imageworks Studio was notified today that their site design had
> basically been stolen and recycled (well... attempted to be recycled
> anyway) on another web site without any prior notification and/or
> permission. Could they at least make an attempt to make it look like a
> professional and presentable website? Unbelievable!
>
> Check it out for yourselves.
>
> Our Web Site:http://www.imageworksstudio.com/
>
> Site in Question:http://www.wealthbridgeenterprises.com/


what can I say... :) you should inform their clients... use ceo
techniques. in my country ceo maniacs are able to say enything. for exp
if you want to find "idiota" (en. idiot) in Polish google, you can see
ex prime minister site on the first place :)

http://www.google.pl/search?num=100...ukaj&lr=lang_pl

r.

anonimulo

2007-01-27, 11:33 pm

In comp.infosystems.www.authoring.site-design on Tuesday 16 January 2007
23:23, dkva wrote:

> I know imitation is the ultimate form of flattery, but a definite line
> should be drawn in the realm of copyright infringement for web site
> design and or any creative design or service for that matter.
> Imageworks Studio was notified today that their site design had
> basically been stolen and recycled (well... attempted to be recycled
> anyway) on another web site without any prior notification and/or
> permission. Could they at least make an attempt to make it look like a
> professional and presentable website? Unbelievable!
>
> Check it out for yourselves.
>
> Our Web Site:
> http://www.imageworksstudio.com/
>
> Site in Question:
> http://www.wealthbridgeenterprises.com/


They have managed to make their site load a lot faster. I gave up on yours
when opera reported 300k downloaded (I am only on dialup).

I suggest that, instead of complaining on here, you plagiarise their
improvements and apply them to your own website.
dkva

2007-01-27, 11:33 pm

Understood... I was whining a bit there... but when you spend months
conceptualizing, designing and revising a concept over and over until
you get it right where you want it... and then someone comes along and
steals and butchers it and claims it as their own... you feel as though
you have been violated or robbed in a sense. I was just trying to point
out that web plagiarism is becoming a growing problem on the web...
especially when they actually take and recycle your graphics without
any notice. It is one thing to mimic a design it is a completely
different ball game all togehter when your graphics are stolen and then
claimed "original" by others.


On Jan 16, 6:04 pm, 34107 <resp...@viause.net> wrote:
> "dkva" <d...@darrenkurre.com> wrote in news:1168986212.822553.166700@
> 11g2000cwr.googlegroups.com:
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> "Could they at least make an attempt to make it look like a
> professional and presentable website?"
>
> yet on the other you're complaining they've "borrowed" your design!
>
> Oh, and by the way, your own site has 18 validation errors!
> --www.lightningnews.comLightning fast anonymous usenet downloads for 5$ only !


Dylan Parry

2007-01-27, 11:33 pm

dkva wrote:

> http://www.imageworksstudio.com/
> http://www.wealthbridgeenterprises.com/


They bear a passing resemblance to each other, but really the only thing
that is the same is the green bit with a curve in the middle. The
colours are different, and yours has a lot more in terms of curved boxes
etc.

It's not really plagiarism unless they took your entire design and
relabelled it as theirs without changing anything. It looks to me that
they have simply been inspired by yours and taken one graphic. You'd
probably be within your rights to ask them to remove that graphic, but
other than that the similarities are negligible.

Either way, they managed to get the page to load a lot faster than
yours, but then yours looks more polished than theirs!

--
Dylan Parry
http://electricfreedom.org | http://webpageworkshop.co.uk

Programming, n: A pastime similar to banging one's head
against a wall, but with fewer opportunities for reward.
Sponsored Links


Copyright 2003 - 2009 forum4designers.com  Software forum  Computer Hardware reviews