This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters
Home > Archive > Computer Graphics with Photoshop > September 2006 > PSE v4 OEM.
You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread.
To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to
this thread please [click here]
|
|
| Bob Williams 2006-09-08, 6:17 pm |
| I was looking for best prices on PS Elements 4 on the internet.
Some places offered it for $89 and a few offered an OEM version for $39.
What is the difference?
Are the OEM disks less than full featured?....Pirated?
Does PSE v4 require "Activation" or " Registration" to work properly
like PS CS?
Thanks.....Bob Williams
| |
| Kingdom 2006-09-08, 6:17 pm |
| Bob Williams <mytbob@cox.nospam.net> wrote in news:wYMLg.7814$Mz3.3271
@fed1read07:
> I was looking for best prices on PS Elements 4 on the internet.
> Some places offered it for $89 and a few offered an OEM version for $39.
> What is the difference?
> Are the OEM disks less than full featured?....Pirated?
> Does PSE v4 require "Activation" or " Registration" to work properly
> like PS CS?
> Thanks.....Bob Williams
>
>
yeh fakes
--
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and
attended to with diligence.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
| |
| tacit 2006-09-12, 10:17 pm |
| In article <wYMLg.7814$Mz3.3271@fed1read07>,
Bob Williams <mytbob@cox.nospam.net> wrote:
> I was looking for best prices on PS Elements 4 on the internet.
> Some places offered it for $89 and a few offered an OEM version for $39.
> What is the difference?
The difference is the so-called "OEM" version is an illegal bootleg copy.
If you look online for OEM Web sites or you get spam in your email box
advertising "OEM" software, do a whois check on the Web site. You will
probably find that it is registered in Russia and hosted in China. The
vast bulk of these so-called "OEM" Web sites, even the ones that "look"
professional, are run by Russian organized crime; good luck getting your
money back when you realize you've been duped.
--
Art, photography, shareware, polyamory, literature, kink:
all at http://www.xeromag.com/franklin.html
Nanohazard, Geek shirts, and more: http://www.villaintees.com
| |
| Bob Williams 2006-09-12, 10:17 pm |
|
tacit wrote:
> In article <wYMLg.7814$Mz3.3271@fed1read07>,
> Bob Williams <mytbob@cox.nospam.net> wrote:
>
>
>
>
> The difference is the so-called "OEM" version is an illegal bootleg copy.
>
> If you look online for OEM Web sites or you get spam in your email box
> advertising "OEM" software, do a whois check on the Web site. You will
> probably find that it is registered in Russia and hosted in China. The
> vast bulk of these so-called "OEM" Web sites, even the ones that "look"
> professional, are run by Russian organized crime; good luck getting your
> money back when you realize you've been duped.
I have not ordered anything yet. :-)
I wanted to touch base with you guys before acting.
Tacit,you mentioned in a previous post that Adobe did/does OEM Elements.
"Adobe did not make OEM versions of Photoshop 7 or
later; the only image editing program they OEM now is Elements."
That's why I thought that the $39 OEM version might be for real.
I thought the difference might just be that the OEM disk comes without a
manual or the pretty, glossy box that one gets at retailers.
Bob Williams
| |
| tacit 2006-09-12, 10:17 pm |
| In article <f_iMg.7853$Mz3.3532@fed1read07>,
Bob Williams <mytbob@cox.nospam.net> wrote:
> I have not ordered anything yet. :-)
> I wanted to touch base with you guys before acting.
> Tacit,you mentioned in a previous post that Adobe did/does OEM Elements.
Yes, there is an OEM version of Elements. However, that does not mean
that if you order from a Web site, you'll actually get the OEM version!
Software pirates have started using "OEM" to explain why their software
is so cheap, rather than telling the truth--it's bootleg.
In the US, selling OEM software separately from the hardware it
originally shipped with is still illegal.
--
Art, photography, shareware, polyamory, literature, kink:
all at http://www.xeromag.com/franklin.html
Nanohazard, Geek shirts, and more: http://www.villaintees.com
| |
| Bob Williams 2006-09-12, 10:17 pm |
|
tacit wrote:
> In article <f_iMg.7853$Mz3.3532@fed1read07>,
> Bob Williams <mytbob@cox.nospam.net> wrote:
>
>
>
>
> Yes, there is an OEM version of Elements. However, that does not mean
> that if you order from a Web site, you'll actually get the OEM version!
> Software pirates have started using "OEM" to explain why their software
> is so cheap, rather than telling the truth--it's bootleg.
>
> In the US, selling OEM software separately from the hardware it
> originally shipped with is still illegal.
Thanks for the heads up.
I'll look elsewhere.
Bob Williams
|
|
|
| | Copyright 2003 - 2008 forum4designers.com Software forum Computer Hardware reviews |
|