This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters
Home > Archive > Webmaster forum > March 2007 > Can you tell me what this line is doing?
You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread.
To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to
this thread please [click here]
| Author |
Can you tell me what this line is doing?
|
|
|
| I received the following message in my inbox. I don't know what the
href line is doing
href="http://www.irangardan.ir/includes/joomla_enhanced/images/americaonline/BankofAmerica%20OnlineID/cgi-bin/loginin/">http://update.Bankofamerica.com
Is http://update.Bankofamerica.com a BOA site or is it the phisher's
site? Is that redirected to the Iranian site? Or is the Iranian site
redirected to a bogus BOA update site.
If I try to go to http://www.irangardan.ir but I get the message "Server
not found".
Thanks for any clarification.
Basic text of message is below.
<SPAN class=text2>Dear Bank of America Customer,<br><br>
<br>During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification
procedures,
<br>we have detected a slight error in your account information.
<br>To securely confirm your personal information please click on the
link bellow:
<br>
<br><a
href="http://www.irangardan.ir/includes/joomla_enhanced/images/americaonline/BankofAmerica%20OnlineID/cgi-bin/loginin/">http://update.Bankofamerica.com
</a>
<br><br>Confirm Your Bank of America Account and SiteKey now to enjoy
the benefits of
<br>online banking and finance to avoid identity theft and fraudulent
activities on
<br>your account.
| |
| paul@paulwatt.info 2007-03-28, 7:19 pm |
| On 28 Mar, 17:09, salad <o...@vinegar.com> wrote:
> I received the following message in my inbox. I don't know what the
> href line is doing
>
> href="http://www.irangardan.ir/includes/joomla_enhanced/images/americaonlin...">http://update.Bankofamerica.com
>
> Ishttp://update.Bankofamerica.coma BOA site or is it the phisher's
> site? Is that redirected to the Iranian site? Or is the Iranian site
> redirected to a bogus BOA update site.
>
> If I try to go tohttp://www.irangardan.irbut I get the message "Server
> not found".
>
> Thanks for any clarification.
>
> Basic text of message is below.
>
> <SPAN class=text2>Dear Bank of America Customer,<br><br>
> <br>During our regularly scheduled account maintenance and verification
> procedures,
> <br>we have detected a slight error in your account information.
> <br>To securely confirm your personal information please click on the
> link bellow:
>
> <br>
> <br><a
> href="http://www.phisherssite...">http://spoofed.url
>
> </a>
> <br><br>Confirm Your Bank of America Account and SiteKey now to enjoy
> the benefits of
> <br>online banking and finance to avoid identity theft and fraudulent
> activities on
> <br>your account.
That be a phisher that be. gaarrr
| |
| The little lost angel 2007-03-28, 7:19 pm |
| On Wed, 28 Mar 2007 16:09:48 GMT, salad <oil@vinegar.com> wrote:
>I received the following message in my inbox. I don't know what the
>href line is doing
>
>href="http://www.irangardan.ir/includes/joomla_enhanced/images/americaonline/BankofAmerica%20OnlineID/cgi-bin/loginin/">http://update.Bankofamerica.com
>Is http://update.Bankofamerica.com a BOA site or is it the phisher's
>site? Is that redirected to the Iranian site? Or is the Iranian site
>redirected to a bogus BOA update site.
It's a standard phishing trick. The href line is where you would
actually be logging into, while the displayed text would show BOA.
This is to trick unaware customers into giving away their login
information to whoever runs www.irangardan.ir while thinking they are
logging into BOA.
Although as you have discovered, actions against these sites are
swiftly taken by the victim corporations the moment they are
discovered.
--
A Lost Angel, fallen from heaven
Lost in dreams, Lost in aspirations,
Lost to the world, Lost to myself
|
|
|
| | Copyright 2003 - 2008 forum4designers.com Software forum Computer Hardware reviews |
|