This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters  


Home > Archive > Webmaster forum > November 2006 > What does this code do?





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author What does this code do?
zeebop

2006-11-19, 7:46 pm

Hi,

Noticed a page making a lot of requests to my site.
Can anyone explain what this code is doing?

<div id="cb">
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"
src="/media/serv/MM_load.php?r=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.gemmaatkinson.info%3A2082%2Fawstats.pl%3Fconfig%3Dgemmaatkinson.info%26lang%3Den%26framename%3Dmainright%26update%3D1"></script>
</div>
</div

Here is where it is from:
http://scans.sicknote.org.uk/pictur..._3branch_art_1/

zeebop
Swampy Bogtrotter

2006-11-19, 7:49 pm

zeebop wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Noticed a page making a lot of requests to my site.
> Can anyone explain what this code is doing?
>
> <div id="cb">
> <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"
> src="/media/serv/MM_load.php?r=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.gemmaatkinson.info%3A2082%2Fawstats.pl%3Fconfig%3Dgemmaatkinson.info%26lang%3Den%26framename%3Dmainright%26update%3D1"></script>
> </div>
> </div
>
> Here is where it is from:
> http://scans.sicknote.org.uk/pictur..._3branch_art_1/
>
> zeebop


Looks to me like it's something to do with a hit counter of some kind.
I'm probably wrong though, as someone more knowledgeable than me will no
doubt soon prove ;-)


Matt-the-Hoople

2006-11-19, 7:51 pm

On 06 Nov 2006, from the relative safety of an aluminum foil deflector
beanie, zeebop put down the rubber duck and exclaimed in
alt.www.webmaster:

> Can anyone explain what this code is doing?
>
> <div id="cb">
> <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"
> src="/media/serv/MM_load.php?r=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.gemmaatkinson.info%3A20
> 82%2Fawstats.pl%3Fconfig%3Dgemmaatkinson.info%26lang%3Den%26framename%3
> Dmainright%26update%3D1"></script>
>


looks like it's performing some action with data culled from awstats at
gemmaatkinson.info - a banner display tracker perhaps?



--
# www.progressiveindependent.com
# vze2dvk5@your_clothes_verizon.net
# remove _your_clothes_ to email me

# my mileage always varies
zeebop

2006-11-19, 7:51 pm

On Tue, 07 Nov 2006 15:52:45 GMT, "Matt-the-Hoople"
<vze2dvk5@your_clothes_verizon.net> wrote:

>On 06 Nov 2006, from the relative safety of an aluminum foil deflector
>beanie, zeebop put down the rubber duck and exclaimed in
>alt.www.webmaster:
>
>
>looks like it's performing some action with data culled from awstats at
>gemmaatkinson.info - a banner display tracker perhaps?


how would I block a site from accessing mine at all?
Is there something I should do with a .htaccess file?
Sponsored Links


Copyright 2003 - 2008 forum4designers.com  Software forum  Computer Hardware reviews