This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters  


Home > Archive > Webmaster forum > January 2005 > How to read a Domain Reg record...





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author How to read a Domain Reg record...
JJ

2005-01-28, 7:43 pm

Hey All,

My read of this domain record below seems to indicate that Melbourne
IT is the registrar and Yahoo is the webhost.

Does anyone know if Yahoo.com has subcontracted their domain
registration service? Specifically to a company called
http://www.melbourneit.com

WhoIs Information For: davidinlv.com

BEGIN WHOIS RECORD -------

Whois Server Version 1.3

Domain Name: DAVIDINLV.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: http://www.melbourneit.com
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Status: ACTIVE
Updated Date: 14-jan-2005
Creation Date: 14-jan-2005
Expiration Date: 14-jan-2006


->>> Last update of whois database: Thu, 27 Jan 2005 07:43:36 EST <<<

Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com

Domain Name.......... davidinlv.com
Creation Date........ 2005-01-14
Registration Date.... 2005-01-14
Expiry Date.......... 2006-01-14
Organisation Name.... David Berman
Organisation Address. 0000
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Las Vegas
Organisation Address. 89127
Organisation Address. NV
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES

Admin Name........... David Berman
Admin Address........ 0000
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Las Vegas
Admin Address........ 89127
Admin Address........ NV
Admin Address........ UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... no@nono.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.7025551212
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax............. +1.6198813010
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

END WHOIS RECORD ------

I used the whois at dotster.com which seems to be drawn from
networksolutions?

Thanks

Jay

ps The reason I am asking...
See, we're having a rather sad soap opera in alt.vacation.las-vegas.
Doofus #1 and Doofus #2 are having a "to do" about defamatory
websites. Doofus #1, a Chuck K, supposedly used Yahoo.com to reg
davidinlv.com and cliffyberman.com but is using some other webhost.
This did not make sense given the domain record above.

Supposedly, Doofus #2, David Berman, actually hired an attorney who
retained yet another attorney who is buddy buddy with the Yahoo legal
staff and had these websites shut down. The website's really did not
have anything noteworthy in my opinion.

Hey, if you want to see an example of upper mid-level internet idiocy
search on "Bye-Bye to Chuck's Sites" and "The Words of Chairman Chuck"
in alt.vacation.las-vegas. I'm sure most have you have seen stuff
like this before but I have the feeling this one will become a part of
internet history.

Me, I live in Vegas, so it is also a spot of local drama.

Jay
Gary Pigott

2005-01-28, 7:44 pm

JJ wrote:
> Hey All,
>
> My read of this domain record below seems to indicate that Melbourne
> IT is the registrar and Yahoo is the webhost.
>
> Does anyone know if Yahoo.com has subcontracted their domain
> registration service? Specifically to a company called
> http://www.melbourneit.com
>


Melbourne IT are Domain Registrars. They are directly authorised by
ICANN to sell domain names. Yahoo aren't, so they are agents for
Melbourne IT services. The website is Yahoo branded, the invoice is a
Yahoo receipt, but they connect directly to the Melbourne IT back end.
Yahoo get a few % off the top for any sales that they send Melbourne
IT's way, but that's about it. They often bundle a domain name with a
hosting order and vice versa, so it's likely Yahoo do host it, but it's
not certain given the info supplied.

The WHOIS reecord actually gives you no direct information on the
location of the server..... It lists the name servers for the domain. A
DNS query to these servers for www.davidinlv.com will give you the IP
address of the server. A WHOIS lookup on the IP address will tell you
the actual owner of the IP, which should give you the name of the
hosting company. www.davidinlv.com isn't configured right now on the
name server, so it's either been deleted as a consequence of the legal
action, or it was never there in the first place. Sorry, but that's all
you can find out online....

Gary


--
"a script is what you give the actors. A program is what you give the
audience." Larry Wall
http://www.garypigott.net

Norman L. DeForest

2005-01-28, 11:17 pm


On Thu, 27 Jan 2005, JJ wrote:

> Hey All,
>
> My read of this domain record below seems to indicate that Melbourne
> IT is the registrar and Yahoo is the webhost.
>
> Does anyone know if Yahoo.com has subcontracted their domain
> registration service? Specifically to a company called
> http://www.melbourneit.com
>
> WhoIs Information For: davidinlv.com
>
> BEGIN WHOIS RECORD -------
>
> Whois Server Version 1.3

[snip]
> Domain Name.......... davidinlv.com

[snip]
> Organisation Address. 0000
> Organisation Address.
> Organisation Address. Las Vegas

[snip]
> Admin Address........ 0000
> Admin Address........
> Admin Address........ Las Vegas

[snip]
> Admin Email.......... no@nono.com
> Admin Phone.......... +1.7025551212

[snip]

So the address is 0000, Las Vegas and the admin phone number is
directory assistance for area code 702? Right! Really believable![1]

That appears to be enough falsified data right there to get the domain
suspended if it isn't corrected in 15 days.

[1] Add <sarcasm>...</sarcasm> tags to taste.
--
Norman De Forest http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/~af380/Profile.html
af380@chebucto.ns.ca [=||=] (A Speech Friendly Site)
My Usenet 2005 calendar: http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/~af380/Year-2005.txt
For explanation: http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/~af380/Links.Books.html#TandD

Sponsored Links


Copyright 2003 - 2008 forum4designers.com  Software forum  Computer Hardware reviews