This is Interesting: Free Magazines for Graphics designers and webmasters  


Home > Archive > FrontPage Programming > March 2007 > _vti_bin.owssvr.dll and _vti_aut/author.dll





You are viewing an archived Text-only version of the thread. To view this thread in it's original format and/or if you want to reply to this thread please [click here]

Author _vti_bin.owssvr.dll and _vti_aut/author.dll
JA

2007-03-15, 11:15 pm

Hi, Can anyone tell me what these are?

I keep getting 404 error pages (in the logs) for _vti_bin.owssvr.dll


and _vti_aut/author.dll is in the top 10 of pages viewed, to the tune of 275
mg of bandwidth for 10 days.

Thanks, J~


Steve Easton

2007-03-15, 11:15 pm

That means people are trying to hack into your website, especially the reference to
vti_aut/author.dll.
As long as they return 404 errors you are good to go.

You might want to make sure you have a really strong password for your site though, in
case one of the "hackers" decides to run a brute force password tool against your site.

You'll see these entries from time to time, especially when the "hacker world" is running
a contest to see who can hack the most sites.


--

Steve Easton
Microsoft MVP FrontPage
FP Cleaner
http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/fpclean.htm
Hit Me FP
http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/HitMeFP.htm



"JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message news:45f9d553$0$16685$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
> Hi, Can anyone tell me what these are?
>
> I keep getting 404 error pages (in the logs) for _vti_bin.owssvr.dll
>
>
> and _vti_aut/author.dll is in the top 10 of pages viewed, to the tune of 275 mg of
> bandwidth for 10 days.
>
> Thanks, J~
>



JA

2007-03-17, 7:20 pm

I clicked on the author.dll, and it isn't giving a 404 after all. It shows
this:

method=

status=

a.. status=xxxxxx
b.. osstatus=0
c.. msg=Unknown CONTENT_TYPE: "".
d.. osmsg=
(I changed the real number to xxxxxx). Is this something they can use to
hack the site? It's been viewed 827 times, a couple of which were from me.


Thanks, J~


"Steve Easton" <admin@95isalive.com> wrote in message
news:OvpvTB3ZHHA.3928@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
> That means people are trying to hack into your website, especially the
> reference to vti_aut/author.dll.
> As long as they return 404 errors you are good to go.
>
> You might want to make sure you have a really strong password for your
> site though, in case one of the "hackers" decides to run a brute force
> password tool against your site.
>
> You'll see these entries from time to time, especially when the "hacker
> world" is running a contest to see who can hack the most sites.
>
>
> --
>
> Steve Easton
> Microsoft MVP FrontPage
> FP Cleaner
> http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/fpclean.htm
> Hit Me FP
> http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/HitMeFP.htm
>
>
>
> "JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message
> news:45f9d553$0$16685$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
>
>



Steve Easton

2007-03-17, 7:20 pm

What do you mean by "clicked on the author.dll" ??


--

Steve Easton
Microsoft MVP FrontPage
FP Cleaner
http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/fpclean.htm
Hit Me FP
http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/HitMeFP.htm

"JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message news:45fbf147$0$25400$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
>I clicked on the author.dll, and it isn't giving a 404 after all. It shows this:
>
> method=
>
> status=
>
> a.. status=xxxxxx
> b.. osstatus=0
> c.. msg=Unknown CONTENT_TYPE: "".
> d.. osmsg=
> (I changed the real number to xxxxxx). Is this something they can use to hack the site?
> It's been viewed 827 times, a couple of which were from me.
>
>
> Thanks, J~
>
>
> "Steve Easton" <admin@95isalive.com> wrote in message
> news:OvpvTB3ZHHA.3928@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>
>



JA

2007-03-17, 7:20 pm

In my stats. It lists pages visited as links.


"Steve Easton" <admin@95isalive.com> wrote in message
news:ON5A9$JaHHA.2316@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
> What do you mean by "clicked on the author.dll" ??
>
>
> --
>
> Steve Easton
> Microsoft MVP FrontPage
> FP Cleaner
> http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/fpclean.htm
> Hit Me FP
> http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/HitMeFP.htm
>
> "JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message
> news:45fbf147$0$25400$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
>
>



JA

2007-03-17, 7:20 pm

In my stats. It lists pages visited as links.


"Steve Easton" <admin@95isalive.com> wrote in message
news:ON5A9$JaHHA.2316@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
> What do you mean by "clicked on the author.dll" ??
>
>
> --
>
> Steve Easton
> Microsoft MVP FrontPage
> FP Cleaner
> http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/fpclean.htm
> Hit Me FP
> http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/HitMeFP.htm
>
> "JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message
> news:45fbf147$0$25400$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
>
>




Steve Easton

2007-03-17, 7:20 pm

author.dll doesn't qualify as a "page visited"

If you're seeing 404 entries for author.dll in your error logs, that's exactly what you
want to see.
( unless You" can not log into your site )

Check the section of your stats for logged in users.

--

Steve Easton
Microsoft MVP FrontPage
FP Cleaner
http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/fpclean.htm
Hit Me FP
http://www.95isalive.com/fixes/HitMeFP.htm


"JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message news:45fc0f5d$0$18855$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
> In my stats. It lists pages visited as links.
>
>
> "Steve Easton" <admin@95isalive.com> wrote in message
> news:ON5A9$JaHHA.2316@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
>
>



Thomas A. Rowe

2007-03-18, 11:17 pm

Every time your site is access by FP you will see a link to Author.dll.

--
==============================================
Thomas A. Rowe
Microsoft MVP - FrontPage

http://www.Ecom-Data.com
==============================================


"JA" <jarmour@kc.rr.com> wrote in message news:45fbf147$0$25400$4c368faf@roadrunner.com...
>I clicked on the author.dll, and it isn't giving a 404 after all. It shows this:
>
> method=
>
> status=
>
> a.. status=xxxxxx
> b.. osstatus=0
> c.. msg=Unknown CONTENT_TYPE: "".
> d.. osmsg=
> (I changed the real number to xxxxxx). Is this something they can use to hack the site? It's been
> viewed 827 times, a couple of which were from me.
>
>
> Thanks, J~
>
>
> "Steve Easton" <admin@95isalive.com> wrote in message
> news:OvpvTB3ZHHA.3928@TK2MSFTNGP03.phx.gbl...
>
>



Sponsored Links


Copyright 2003 - 2008 forum4designers.com  Software forum  Computer Hardware reviews